1950: RECONTRUCTION OF WROCŁAW
The work on the reconstruction of the war-damaged Wrocław was undertaken with great momentum. Over the course of several years, reconstruction works were carried out and new facilities were designed. New residential and service buildings were erected on Str. Wita Stwosza and Str. Łaciarska and the historic Psie Budy street was reconstructed.
The project that became the showcase of Wrocław at that time was the extension of Nowy Targ Square. During the war, most of the courtyard's architecture was completely destroyed. In the 1950s and 1960s, new residential buildings were erected around it. They were built according to the design of distinguished and award-winning Wrocław architects - Ryszard Natusiewicz, Włodzimierz Czerechowski and Anna and Jerzy Tarnawski. The fruit of many years of work on this part of the city was the construction of above-average durable blocks, which are still in use today. Aggregate was used for their construction
from the debris left over from the war.
The style of tenement houses in the Market Square or Solny Square was abandoned in favor of functionality and modernism, which at that time was a symbol of social changes and the improvement of the society's well-being.
Nowy Targ - eastern side. Comparison of the state of 1945 - 1970.
During the reconstruction of old architectural objects, care was taken to maintain their traditional appearance. One of the showpieces of this idea is the House under the Golden Deer, located on the Market Square at number 44. This medieval building was destroyed by fire as a result of hostilities. The architect of Miastoprojekt, Witold Skowronek, undertook an attempt to restore the monument. The design of the architect Skowronek assumed the preservation of the four-axis facade of the tenement house and the restoration of the arrangement of window openings with changes referring to the state from before the nineteenth century. In 1954, the works were completed with a positive result, and the House under the Golden Deer is still one of the elements that make up the unique landscape of the Wrocław Market Square.
The tenement house under the Golden Deer, 1954, source: https://fotopolska.eu
An undertaking carried out by the then Miastoprojekt Wrocław, which is particularly worth paying attention to, is the reconstruction of the former Bernardine Monastery. Only 40% of this medieval church and monastery complex survived after the war. Edmund Małachowicz, an outstanding architect operating in Wrocław, was fully responsible for the renovation. He was a laureate of many decorations, including the most prestigious Polish architectural award - the Honorary SARP Award. He created and coordinated a project for the reconstruction of the monastery. The works took place in the 1950s and 1960s. The Museum of Architecture was located between the walls of the building complex. The monument has retained its gothic atmosphere, for which Małachowicz was awarded in 1966 by the Minister of Construction.
Post-Bernardine monastery. The southern wing during reconstruction. 1958